Skip to content

Norwegian Red Cross

Logo of Norwegian Red Cross

The Norwegian Red Cross is a humanitarian, volunteer-based organization that operates in accordance with the 1949 Geneva Conventions and their Additional Protocols of 1977 and 2005, and the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement’s seven fundamental principles: humanity, impartiality, neutrality, independence, voluntary participation, unity, and universality. The Norwegian Red Cross is the only Red Cross organization in Norway.

The Norwegian Red Cross is part of the Red Cross Red Crescent Movement, which consists of 192 National Societies, The International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) and The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC). The Red Cross Red Crescent Movement is the world’s largest humanitarian network and represents an estimated 13 million volunteers in 192 countries.

The Norwegian Red Cross is present across the world and has been part of the movement since 1865.

The Norwegian Red Cross contributes to the ambition set at COP26 to build climate resilient and sustainable health systems, using the collective power of countries and stakeholders to drive this agenda forward and promotes the integration of climate change and health nexus. The Norwegian Red Cross acts as a key actor on the matter and capitalizes on its comparative advantage while bringing to global efforts its existing strengths in primary health care, remaining focused and bringing attention to conflict and the climate crisis.

Supporting the following commitments:

  • Conduct climate change and health vulnerability and adaptation assessments (V&As) at population level and/or health care facility level.
  • Develop a health national adaptation plan (HNAP) informed by the health V&A, which forms part of the National Adaptation Plan.
  • Develop an action plan or roadmap by a set date to develop a sustainable low carbon health system (including supply chains).

Country experience:

The Norwegian Red Cross has physical presence in the countries listed below, and is planning to start implementing at different degrees, the health and climate approach through health systems strengthening with an emphasis on primary health care (countries marked with * are considered for operations starting in 2024):

Africa: Burkina Faso, Nigeria, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Ethiopia*, Kenya* 

Americas: Colombia, El Salvador, Honduras, Ecuador*, Haiti*, Venezuela*

Asia: Afghanistan, Myanmar, Pakistan, Bangladesh*

Europe: Ukraine

Middle East and North Africa: Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Syria, Turkey, Yemen


Site in English: 

Scroll to top