Skip to content

Green Climate Fund

Logo of the Green Climate Fund

The Green Climate Fund (GCF) is the world’s largest dedicated climate fund. GCF’s mandate is to foster a paradigm shift towards low emission, climate-resilient development pathways in developing countries. GCF has a portfolio of USD 13.5 billion (USD 51.8 billion including co-financing) delivering transformative climate action in more than 120 countries. As the world’s largest climate fund, GCF supports developing countries to achieve their climate ambitions for a green, resilient future and that includes protecting the health and wellbeing of the most vulnerable people on this planet. To date, GCF has approved investments totaling USD 457m in 13 projects that have strong health and wellbeing outputs. At COP28, in addition to launching the “Guiding Principles for Financing Climate and Health Solutions” in partnership with the Global Fund, GCF authorized a grant of $1.5 million, which UNDP and WHO are matching with a further $1.56 million, to support the preparation of a proposed $122 million climate and health co-financing facility. This unique financing mechanism will leverage public and private capital to promote climate resilient, sustainable, and low-carbon health systems and assist countries to implement their health commitments made at COP26 through the WHO's Alliance for Transformative Action on Climate and Health (ATACH).

Supporting the following commitments:

  • Use the V&A and HNAP to facilitate access to climate change funding for health.
  • Set a target date by which to achieve health systems net zero emissions (ideally by 2050).
  • Develop an action plan or roadmap by a set date to develop a sustainable low carbon health system (including supply chains).

Country experience:

Kenya, Rwanda, Samoa, Bangladesh, Antigua and Barbuda, Senegal, Timor-Leste, Colombia, Burkina Faso, Chad, Cote d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Mali, Mauritania, Niger (the), Nigeria, Senegal, Sudan, Vanuatu, Vanuatu, Ecuador, India, Djibouti, Morocco, Nigeria, Tunisia, Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Albania, North Macedonia, Argentina, Costa Rica, Mexico, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Lao People's Democratic Republic (the)


Site in English:

Scroll to top