Skip to content

Clinton Health Access Initiative (CHAI)

Logo of the Clinton Health Access Initiative

Clinton Health Access Initiative (CHAI) has over two decades of experience partnering with 30+ low and middle income governments to accelerate access to essential health commodities for infectious diseases and non-communicable diseases. In parallel, CHAI has supported our government partners to strengthen their capacity to identify the greatest needs and rapidly scale up care and treatment programs. We see the impact that climate change is having on health, and its potential to roll back progress made to date. CHAI is well equipped to continue to engage with government partners to support their capacity building in this new climate/health space. We have deep, well established relationships in countries, as well as technical expertise at conducting needs assessments and translating these into well developed, costed plans. We have undertaken this type of work across a number of health areas and are already engaging with partners to extend these analyses into the climate/health space.

Supporting the following commitments:

  • Conduct climate change and health vulnerability and adaptation assessments (V&As) at population level and/or health care facility level.
  • Develop a health national adaptation plan (HNAP) informed by the health V&A, which forms part of the National Adaptation Plan.
  • Use the V&A and HNAP to facilitate access to climate change funding for health.
  • Develop an action plan or roadmap by a set date to develop a sustainable low carbon health system (including supply chains).

Country experience:

CHAI has offices in over 30 countries, listed below. In each of these countries, CHAI is deeply embedded within Ministries of Health: Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cameroon, China, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Lao PDR, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nigeria, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe


Site in English: 

Scroll to top